Run For The Angels: Truly Worth It


run-for-the-angels

Took my Soleus running watch and Helo healthband at the Run for the Angels. Photo credit: Camp Big Falcon

It’s not very often that I get to join a race outside of Metro Manila, even if it’s just a hour’s drive or two away. And when I get the chance, I would certainly go for it. Just like the Run for the Angels at Vista Mall Sta. Rosa.

I arrived early for the 4am trip at the Buendia terminal for south-bound buses, which will drop me off at Sta. Rosa Exit to make in time for the 5:50am gun start. But it’s been half an hour since the 4am trip should’ve have left. Each minute ticked away and it felt like forever. A quarter before 5, the first bus loaded the passengers according to the number of seats available. Considering the 1 hour travel time from Manila to Sta. Rosa, I will definitely be late for the 5:50am gun start. So I boarded the bus even if it means I had to stand.

When I reached the venue after a 15-minute trike ride, the final category (3K) has just made its 10-second countdown. When Tita Margot Tipon of Active Pinas handed me my 5-mile bib, I hurriedly changed into my running clothes. I was literally the last runner to leave start line!

With so much adrenaline pumping through my system, I was at my top speed after the second kilometre, running past 2-mile and 5-mile runners, and some of the 10-mile runners even. I had to admit that the race route was unexplored inside an exclusive village. The streets were lined up with towering trees, greens and a lot of fresh cool air filling in my lungs with each breath, which helped me with a better VO2 max.

We 5-milers went through another iron-gated village, which was purposely opened just for this race and I was awed with amazement at the landscaping – more pine trees and even more towering old trees! It felt like I was running in the outskirts of the city. It was serene. It was peaceful. It was invigorating.

Whilst the race was a green race, Active Pinas with the support of some running groups, provided for the hydration of the participants in various spots along the course.

I was running relentlessly that I realised I was running a bit too fast, only to be caught up in the traffic less than 200 metres away from the finish line. I crossed the finish line at about 6:58am. And based on my calculation, since I was 18 minutes late, I completed my 5-mile race in about 40 minutes.

run-for-the-angels-josh-finish-line

The now grown up Josh (left) helping out the finish line marshals with hydration.

As most of my friends are in the corporate world just like me, races are a great way to catch up with them. And it’s also great to see how much Joshua Tipon has grown up! After finishing his 3.2 kilometre race, Josh was seen helping out the the hydration at the finish line. I learned that Dave Tipon was with his classmates so I didn’t see him at all. It was also an opportunity to see Tita Margot after a long time as I don’t get to see her as compared to Eric whom I get to meet in running events.

During the awarding, three members of the Ayala Triads – Criselda del Rosario (5-mi second place), Rhina Sison and Seanna Swift (10-mi third and first place, respectively) made it to the podium!

run-for-the-angels-ayala-triads

Ayala Triads contingent at the Run for the Angels, together with podium finishers Criselda, Rhina and Seannah. #ProudToBeTriads

The race was nothing short of fun. I absolutely enjoyed every mile of it as I seldom get to see such refreshing race route. Unfortunately, I didn’t take photos as I don’t usually bring my phone with me.

The race venue was great as Vista Mall allowed the use of its spacious washrooms for us runners to change into our fresh clothes. Also, fastfood chains in the vicinity served our post-race meals. And nearby, there’s a van terminal bound for Manila, which was very convenient for commuters.

run-for-the-angels-with-eric-and-tita-margot

With Active Pinas’s Eric and Tita Margot. Thank you for a great experience!

Even though I had to run late for the race, still it was all worth my time and effort. I was compensated by the new and unforgettable experience yet again. Something that may be not duplicated by other races. And the BEST thing about the race is that, the runners have extended more happiness to the beneficiaries of the event, an orphanage in Silang, Cavite.

Thank you, Active Pinas and Congratulations for a successful race!
Did I say I’m looking forward to more races with you?!

Please Leave a Reply

