Wellness Weekend With Herbalife Philippines’ 22nd Anniversary


herbalife-22-fun-run

Celebrating Health and Wellness with Herbalife Philippines @ 22

Marking another milestone as a leading distributor of nutritional products, Herbalife Philippines gathered health and wellness enthusiasts to its 22nd Anniversary Celebration Fun Run on 4 December 2016, at Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City. The wellness activity was attended by at least 3,000 runners composed of Herbalife independent distributors, professional athletes, running enthusiasts, members of the media, bloggers and Herbalife Philippines employees.

As a sports and wellness enthusiast, I had the opportunity to be part of this celebration, as the event was extended to non-members by invitation only.

Excitement filled the race venue as runners were prepping up for their respective races. In my case, I joined my team Ayala Triads in the 10K category. Though I arrived at the race venue early, I was roughly 500 metres away from the start line during the 10-second count down. The 10K runners have already been flagged off by the time I reached the start line, and I had to make my through the 5K runners who had already occupied the area. I was the last 10K runner to cross the start line. Obviously.

All prepped up for the 10k run at Herbalife Philippines 22nd Anniversary Fun Run.

All prepped up for the 10k run at Herbalife Philippines 22nd Anniversary Fun Run.

Having completed a 10K race a couple of weeks back, and having a pretty good training, I was able to catch up with the mid-pack a little sooner. What I liked about the race is that I’m familiar with the route. As a recreational runner who has set up my running goals, my run strategy was, I started at about 5.5 mins/km at the first 2 kilometres just to find my rhythm, and gradually picking up on my speed towards the third kilometre – slowing down a bit at times when I felt that I was reaching my max heart rate, or when I have continuously ran at 4 mins/km pace for at least 10 minutes. Like I have always advised other runners, “Always listen to your body.”

Due to limited directional signs and kilometre markers and too many loops and turns, I thought I got lost somewhere around the 8th kilometre, prompting me to slow down, and even jogged while I was composing my senses. Nonetheless, I followed my runner’s instinct, asked other 10k runners/marshals if we’re on the right route, and just ran off. About two hundred metres off the finish line, I can feel the excitement within me that’s about to explode. I could sense that kind of nitro-infused energy pumping through my veins whilst sprinting the last 100 metres. It wasn’t a new PR, it was a brand new experience. Catching up with running friends whom I haven’t seen or spoken with for a while was an added value for joining the race.

I prefer Lightwater for my post-run hydration since it is infused with electrolytes that our body needs after a strenuous activity like running.

I prefer Lightwater for my post-run hydration since it is infused with electrolytes that our body needs after a strenuous activity like running.

I gathered my backpack from the baggage counter for my hydration. Whilst there was ample hydration supply at the activity area, I preferred Lightwater since it is infused with electrolytes that our body needs after a strenuous activity like running.

Herbalife, which advocates healthy living through its nutritional products, served all finishers with a healthy protein shake to speed up recovery and cell repair. It’s fuller for the body’s nourishment, but feels lighter. No need to worry about gaining excess weight.

Thank you, Herbalife Philippines for this easy-to-carry water bottle.

Thank you, Herbalife Philippines for this easy-to-carry water bottle.

With my Ayala Triads team mates at the Herbalife Philippines 22nd Anniversary fun run.

With my Ayala Triads team mates at the Herbalife Philippines 22nd Anniversary fun run.

Herbalife is a global nutrition company that has been changing people’s lives with great products since 1980, committed to fighting the worldwide problems of poor nutrition and obesity by offering high-quality products, one-on-one coaching with a Herbalife member and a community that inspires customers to live a healthy, active life.

For some people, it may be just another Sunday. Another fun run. But as a champion of healthy living through active lifestyle and good nutrition, I knew that it was a well-spent Sunday morning.

Please Leave a Reply

