A Look Back at 2015: A Day in the Life of a Blogger in Me


2015 was a year of many things to reckon. It was a busy year, too!

Community management for social media accounts became a second nature to me. Social media coverage included GMA New Year Countdown, MyxMo, Alaska Crema Food festival, Alaska Aces, and Alaska sports events such as Alaska Power Camps, Jr. NBA-WNBA Philippines and Alaska Football Cup.

Werkin’ it at the Ironman 70.3 Philippines (Cebu) Photo Credit: Jamil Buergo

I have learned the ins and outs of live sports coverage that I got to do live coverage of triathlon events (Alaska Ironkids, 5i50, Ironman 70.3) where I go onground to give exclusive and first hand live updates on the Pros and the Filipino elites from the swim start, the bike leg, run leg down to the awarding ceremonies.

With Ironman Pros (from left): 15x Iroman Champion Belinda Granger, Dimity-Lee Duke and Justin Granger.

With Matteo, Giorgia and Paulo Guidicelli during Alaska Ironkids Triathlon, Subic.

Doing triathlon events is a thrill because I have the direct access to the Ironman Pros like Belinda Granger, Caroline Steffen, Brent McMahon, Pete Jacobs and a whole lot more! I even had a photo with Formula 1 champion Jensen Button! And of course, I got the chance to be upclose with some local celebrity triathletes, and even got to meet the Guidicellis!

La Presa

At the famous La Presa of the tv series Forevermore.

These live coverages brought me to out of town trips. During the Cebu coverage of Ironman 70.3, I had the privilege to have Ford as my service car, picking me up at the airport or take me from the hotel to the race venue. The Jr. NBA/Jr. WNBA coverage in Baguio with fellow bloggers was very memorable because we got the chance to visit the very famous La Presa. It also gave way to a hosting gig during the send off party for the Jr. NBA – WNBA All Star Team. Thank you, Alaska Sports Team!

As a blogger, a runner and a fitness enthusiast, UNTV, through the recommendation of my friend Tonette Nicholas, invited me to talk about smart watches that have special features in their morning show Good Morning, Kuya. Being my first time to go live on a TV show, I really felt nervous that I got cold sweaty hands and a dry throat. The show’s host were very nice and accommodating that 5 minutes went by unnoticed.

GMK Guesting

I thought that it’s going to be my first and last but I was wrong. The show’s Segmet Producer Jay got me on the show twice. Thanks Tonette and Jay!

Quite frankly, I’m not the kind of blogger who would get invites to huge and grand events and product launches. I rarely receive invites even. But it’s not a biggie for me.

Despite of that, I was honoured to have been invited to join the ASEAN Media Bloggers Tourism Hunt, which was organised by Tourism Malaysia. The six-day itinerary was full but I was able to squeeze in some “me” time like running at the KLCC Park, a quick drop by at the Suria KLCC to get some Malaysian Ringgits, exploring the roads in Port Dickson or shopping at the Jonker Walk in Malacca. The mega fam experience included a visit to the Malaysia Tourism Information Centre, watch the grand and colourful Citrawarna @ KL, and got up close with the Petronas Towers.

Up-close with the imposing Petronas Towers in Kuala Lumpur.

The Malaysia Tourism Hunt saw us on a long road trip from Kuala Lumpur to Port Dickson, Malacca and Putrajaya, visits to museums, a quick drive to the Ostrich Farm and ran with the ostrich, experience best accommodation in best hotel, and experience a fast internet connection.

Road trip stop over in Putrajaya, Malaysia. #SeeMalaysiawithProton

In Malacca for the Trishaw Hunt. #MalaysiaTourismHunt

It was also a chance to learn more about Malaysia and its culture, aside from its being a neighbouring country, and meet bloggers from other ASEAN countries. The Malaysian Tourism Hunt was an absolute experience.

Six days went by so fast, and on our final night in Malacca, we were awarded with this Certificate of Appreciation. #MalaysiaTourismHunt #MYBFFXOXO

There were so much fun and adventure in all those six days. Thank you, Klay and Bianca!

Indeed, 2015 was a year to reckon. There’s too many stories to tell; there’s a lot of experiences to learn from, and endless memories to treasure.

THANK YOU, God for continuously blessing me with wonderful people, opportunities, a good job, for my friends and Family.

Cheers to a more fruitful, more rewarding and more awesome 2016!

“Blessings come to those who are good, do not envy and who patiently wait.”

Please Leave a Reply

