Steffen, Jacobs to Defend Championship Title in 2013 Cobra Energy Drink IronMan 70.3 Philippines

Cobra Energy Drink IronMan 70.3 Philippines on August 4, 2013 @ Shangri-La Mactan

Cobra Energy Drink IronMan 70.3 Philippines on August 4, 2013 @ Shangri-La Mactan

Three-time 70.3 IronMan Philippines Champion Pete Jacobs and 2012 Women Pro Champion Caroline Steffen return to Cebu to defend their respective title in this year’s edition of Cobra Energy Drink IronMan 70.3 Philippines. 

Set in the historic Cebu, approximately 2,150 triathletes from 35 countries across all six continents are expected to swim, bike and run in the the biggest and most exciting multi-sports event of the year. The event is happening on August 4, 2013 at Shangri – La Mactan. The IronMan 70.3 Philippines is a three leg event starting with a 1.2 mile (1.9km)open water swim, 56 mile (90km) bike ride across four cities in Cebu – Lapu Lapu, Mandaue, Cebu City and Talisay, and 13.1 mile (21km) run along the coast of Punta Engano, Lapu Lapu City. 

On top of the Pro, Elite and Age Group categories, a new category has been added – the CEO Category, which caters to CEOs and managing directors of top corporations from six countries. 

The biggest names in the world of triathlon are definitely coming to the Philippines. 

Fresh from her back to back championship titles, Belinda Granger is sure to be one of the tough contenders of Alaska Team TBB’s Caroline Steffan. Bree Wee of the United States, who placed second in 2012,  and Xterra World Champion UK’s Jacqui Slack will be back to race for the top spot. Christie Sym of Alaska Team TBB and the first and only Philippine Pro Monica Torres will make the tough race even tougher.

Among the Men Pros, Triathlon Word Champions Three-Pete Jacobs, Chris “Macca” McCormack, Xterra World Champion Ben Allen, Cameron Brown and Alaska Team TBB’s Matt O’Halloran, who placed second and third in 2012, respectively, Fredrik Cronberg of Sweden, and the Irish Michael Murphy, are to watch out for. 

Dhill Anderson Lee and Banjo Norte, and Jenny Rose Guerrero of Alaska Team Team, Arland Macasieb, August Benedicto, and Noy Jopson are some of the Filipino Elites competing in the Elite Category.

Local celebrities Isabelle Daza, Piolo Pascual, Erwan Heusaff, Solenn Heusaff, Drew Arellano and Matteo Guidicelli, and sports bloggers Noelle de Guzman and Jefferson Lo will be competing in their respective age group categories. Teams of three will also be competing in Men, Women and Mixed Relay categories.

Adding to the luster of this year’s IronMan are the Winners’ Trophies and Finisher’s Medals, which were designed by the world-renown designer Kenneth Cobonpue. 

Catch the action live as it happens on August 4.
Follow us on Twitter: @AlaskaSportshub for the real time updates of the race. 

For more race details, please log on to:
For more information on Alaska Sports program, please log on to:
To know more about the Alaska Team TBB, please log on to:


Please Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: