The Home Run


RunforJuanSince the year started, I haven’t registered for any race except the two ultradistance races which I have already registered for in the past year – the BDM102 and TNF100. All Sundays since January, I would do long runs simulating 21k and 42k races taking the Pasig – Antipolo – Angono –Binangonan – Pasig route. Those runs became my training runs as a preparation to the ultramarathons in the coming weeks.

There were really good races being put up, and one of those runs was Run for Juan scheduled on February 24. This race was previously cancelled due to lack of necessary permits secured by its former organiser. This time, with Greentennial Run at the helm, runners were assured of a very good race, and I can really attest to that. 

Barely a week before the race, I received a message from Jeff Lo of Pinoyfitness informing me that I have a 21k racekit ready for pick up at Mizuno branch in BGC. Come race day, wearing my Pinoyfitness singlet, I proceeded to the race venue with a mindset that it’s going to be my taper run prior to BDM102. So I decided to run on barefoot. My first ever barefoot race. 

At the start line, the ambiance was so alive and there was so much fun. It was another ‘reunion’ with my running friends. There were quite a few of us who will be racing on barefoot. Since I won’t be competitively racing, I started slow, waving and calling out to my friends I met. Around kilometre 7, I found myself on the 6th spot among the male barefoot runners. Still, I maintained my disposition of not competing. However, like a movie scene, I ran past the other two which placed me on the third spot. Somewhere along SM Megamall, I ran past the runner who’s currently on the second place. At this point, I came to realise that this may already be real race for me. After making a U – turn at Boni Serrano area, I have eventually taken over the leading barefoot runner. I just maintained my pace until I reached the White Plains area. 

The soles of my feet were already sending brain signals about the pain. But I didn’t dare to look at them. The cement road was already causing too much trouble. The rough edges of the pebbles were sort of grinding my soles. Yet, I continued, taking small steps. I felt relieved when the marshal told me I was roughly 200 metres away from the finish line. I felt a sudden shot of endorphins running through my veins. The pain was reverberating with every step. But I had to push back the thought that there is pain. The finish line is just a few metres away. Crossing the finish was a total relief. Coach Michelle Estuar approached and informed me that I may have been the first barefoot finisher. I was in denial. Things didn’t sink in on me. I was even telling Coach Mitch that I may have been the second finisher. The marshal at the finish took my details, and I saw it, I was indeed the first barefoot finisher. I can’t thank God enough for the great blessing.

My only prayer was that God gave me the strength that I need to run on barefoot, and that He would just let me finish the race. While running, I kept on praying and repeating Philippians 4:13 – “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” And yes, not only that God let me finish the race in one piece, but He also let me placed first in the barefoot category. 

Truly, when you surrender your heart to Him, and that your intentions are pure, God will give you more than what you asked for. To God be the glory. 

First Place, 1hr 49min
Run for Juan 21k Barefoot Category

Please Leave a Reply

