Music & Me – Part 1


Photo Credit: http://www.wafatv.com

Music has always been a big part of my life. I grew up in a family whose life has been filled with music. My mom, my aunts and uncles have been choir members in the church. My father and his brothers, on the other hand, were band members. My father played the lead guitar, his brother (my uncle, yeah) played the keyboard, and my other uncle played the drums. Living in a rural area, music became a part of our everyday life. I started singing when I was about 4 or 5 years old – in the church. During church services, I would do a solo song a number. Sometimes, I would sing with my cousins. I was 13 years old when I did my first public performance. It was during a municipal Christmas extravaganza. The Christmas song that we performed was O Holy Night. Being the only kid in the group of about 10 performers, I did some solo parts of the song. I could only wish now that there were digital cameras and camera phones that time so it would have been easy to capture that very first performance.

Growing up, I listened to a lot of country music and standard songs. On nights that my father’s friends would come over to the house for some drinking activities, my father would play the guitar while his friends do the vocal parts of the song. I can say that music was not much of a new stuff to me. My exposure to music has some gotten deep into me that I can manage to hit the right notes, and sing – even just a little.

Although singing was nothing new to me, I get stage fright every time I set foot on stage. When time came that I had to live with my grandparents, I remember my uncle playing a guitar and while I sing. It’s always been that way when I was growing up. I would render a song whenever asked to during high school and even in college, though I wasn’t really into singing competitions.  I was more into doing intermission numbers as I never saw myself as a competitive singer.  The reason mainly is I never had so much confidence about my singing. Yes, I can sing – but just a little.

The Audition

While being employed as a stock clerk for the Children’s Wear Department at Ever Grand Central, I was able to fill a slot for the company choir.  I was singing tenor.  Somehow, my involvement in the company choir helped me developed a little more self confidence. Little by little, my confidence was building up. My colleagues were the ones who made me feel that I can really sing.  One day, while browsing through Buy & Sell, an ad looking for singers caught my attention. I called the number and was asked to come in for an audition. Stage fright took over me as I entered the studio. My audition piece was Everyday I Love You by Boyzone. A week after, the manager called me up for a VTR.  There I met four more people, all were scheduled for a VTR, who became my bandmates. The video shoot lasted for about two hours.  Three days later, I received a call from the promotion informing me that we got a gig. We will be performing at the Bean’s Bar of Yinhe Dynasty Hotel in Chengdu, Sichuan, PRC! Our rehearsals commenced – doing our routines and practising our repertoire.  It was a big challenge for me because I can only sing a handful of songs that are considered performance songs.  So I had to learn a whole lot of both old and new songs that are suited for a band performance. We rehearsed from Monday to Friday, at least 6 hours a day.  It was a big break for me and I can already feel the pressure in learning and memorizing the songs, plus mastering the routines. And I had to buy clothes for the nightly performance, too. Ahahah..!  But it all paid off when the day came that we got our visa and plane tickets bound for China. I was excited, anxious, nervous. Mixed emotions!

I never thought that one day I will make a living through music; that I will be able to enjoy what I love to do – that is singing, and at the same time travel to different places.

9 Responses to Music & Me – Part 1

  1. //thank you @lesleycarter…

    Like

  2. Wohh exactly what I was looking for, appreciate it for posting.

    Like

  3. I would like to show some appreciation to this writer just for rescuing me from this particular matter. Just after browsing through the online world and seeing suggestions that were not powerful, I believed my entire life was done. Existing minus the approaches to the problems you have resolved as a result of your good posting is a serious case, as well as the ones that might have adversely affected my career if I had not noticed the blog. Your own personal know-how and kindness in touching the whole lot was precious. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I had not discovered such a point like this. I can also now look ahead to my future. Thanks for your time so much for the specialized and result oriented guide. I will not be reluctant to propose the blog to any individual who needs guidelines on this subject.

    Like

  4. Ines Pizzico says:

    I simply wanted to say thanks once again. I do not know what I would’ve taken care of in the absence of the actual methods shared by you relating to my theme. Previously it was an absolute fearsome case in my view, but taking note of the specialized mode you processed the issue forced me to cry with fulfillment. I am just grateful for the information and in addition believe you recognize what an amazing job that you are providing educating many others through your blog post. I know that you’ve never met any of us.

    Like

  5. I really enjoy examining on this site, it holds wonderful articles. “Don’t put too fine a point to your wit for fear it should get blunted.” by Miguel de Cervantes.

    Like

  6. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

    Like

  7. That Music & Me – Part 1 SuPLaDoNG_iRiSH must to be great!!

    Like

  8. Very good story, I am going to bookmark this.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

