HyperSports Launch – Get Fit 2012


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I came across a link in Facebook about HyperSports Launch 2012. Being a running enthusiast, I clicked on the link, ‘liked’ the page and registered to the HyperSports Launch Get Fit 2012. After completing the registration process, I received an SMS informing me to reply to confirm my attendance which I did.

Come January 14, after the morning activities: Todo Responde Run where I ran 10k instead of 5k, accompanied my friends – Jackie Gutierrez, Lyn Blanco, Peachy Tamayo and Jose Tuason to their swimming session at Army Wellness Center, late lunch at Ate Elsa Lagumen’s house; I sent an SMS to HyperSports asking if I can bring along my friends to the launch. I received a positive reply, however, my friends might not be able to get a free HyperSports shirt. Nonetheless, we went to the launch (except for Peachy who left earlier). After registering, all the four of us got a free shirt.

The event was well prepared — the organizers came with a pack of experienced individuals — starting off with Djundi (I just realized that we’ve been friends on Facebook prior to this event; then there’s Edmar, whom I’ve been bugging through SMS about bringing my friends who weren’t able to register to the event on time; Sheena who is the Philippine National 100m Hurdles Record Holder; Rene Herrera, a five-time record in athletic South East Asian games, and there’s Ninoy who led the drills, with Lawrence. And so we did the drills. Some of them were familiar to me having already attended some running clinics. But doing those familiar drills led by professional athletes are really great. And what I thought was already good weren’t that good really.  They would tell us how to execute each drill properly and correctly. And yes, I learned something new as well.  In between the drills, we were pampered with an ample hydration supply – water and Pocari. There were bananas even! After the drills, we had a simulation run — with a timing chip! The distance – 2012 metres, which is part of the tagline “Get Fit 2012”. This translates to 2 kilometers and 12 meters. Very nice idea, yeah?!

During the simulation run, one of my friends – Jackie, forgot her running shoes. So, I suggested that the four of us run barefoot which they all agreed to. I haven’t done any barefoot running in the past and this was my first. After the first lap (400 metres), I already felt that I got blisters on my both feet.  Blisters can’t stop me from running. Moreso, not finishing the race. Despite running uncomfortably, I was able to complete all the five laps and 12 meters. We had group photos. And certificates, too..! I hope that more runners and running enthusiasts join us in the upcoming sessions.

I had the chance to train with the people whom I met in the running community and Facebook pages — Jonah Mae, Bert & Paul. Having said all these, this event was a great opportunity to learn, and even learn some more! Congratulations: to HyperSports Philippines for a very successful event, and to all who made it to the Get Fit 2012 launch. Good job to the organizers..! We’ll see you next time..!
15 Responses to HyperSports Launch – Get Fit 2012

  1. paul31 says:

    Nice one.. hmmmmm… I was eagerly want to learn and have this kind of thing.. they call it a BLOG… Thanks SuPLaDoNG RuNNeR for making those memorable picture came into life and for sharing your very own insights… Lets keep on being FIT and continue this Habit… 😀

    Like

  2. SuPLaDoNG RuNNeR says:

    //glad to hear your thoughs @paul31…staying fit is everyone’s concern, indeed..!

    Like

  3. Djundi says:

    Thanks for the write up Jared!

    Like

  4. Djundi says:

    See for more HyperSports sessions!!!

    Like

  5. Korey Heying says:

    Some genuinely good content on this web site , thanks for contribution.

    Like

  6. Keep functioning ,fantastic job!

    Like

  7. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you’ve right here on this post. I might be coming again to your blog for more soon.

    Like

  8. Good post. I be taught one thing more difficult on completely different blogs everyday. It is going to all the time be stimulating to read content from other writers and apply a little bit one thing from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content material on my weblog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link in your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  9. Bonsai says:

    Study it, liked it, thank you for it

    Like

  10. Cathy Warren says:

    I’ve been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this blog. Thanks , I’ll try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your website?

    Like

  11. Simply want to say your article is as surprising. The clarity on your post is simply excellent and that i could suppose you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to seize your RSS feed to stay updated with coming near near post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please continue the enjoyable work.

    Like

  12. Michel says:

    I was studying some of your blog posts on this site and I think this site is real informative! Continue posting.

    Like

  13. I have recently started a blog, the information you offer on this site has helped me tremendously. Thank you for all of your time & work.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

