8 Months into Running — and Counting..!


What started as a simple 3k run became a passion – something that inspires and motivates.

My First Medal in Running.

I’ve been into running for eight months now. Back in February, a former associate had tagged me in Facebook a running event. That was Run4Home. That could have been my first race, however, due to a conflict with a scheduled out of town team building, I had to cancel my participation. Then in March, my colleagues had decided to take part in the RAT (Run Against Traffickin) Race at McKinley Hill. That was March 13, 2011. This was the race that started all these “craziness” week after week. In a month, I would have at least one scheduled run, to a maximum of four.

With this, I have gained more and more friends. They’re the familliar faces I get to see in the racing events that I joined in. They became not only my facebook friends/ running buddies, but friends whom I share the same passion for running. They’re the ones I get to train and do practice runs with (Wednesday runs at BHS with Coach Mherlz Lumagbas of Team Runnr Academy), attend the running clinics with, hang out after the race – it maybe a breakfast or lunch, or karaoke session.

Three months into running, I ran my first full marathon during the 35th National Milo Marathon – Manila Eliminations. Though still a newbie in the running world, I finished the race in 4 hours and 46 minutes – this despite the muscle cramps that I suffered while running, not to mention the schaffing in both of my upper arms and thighs.

There are lots of challenges that I have come across while treading the race routes. But what makes these races more significant is that I have my friends cheering for me everytime I cross the finish line.

By the year’s end, I have registered in 31 running events, and have run in a total of 27 races – ranging from 2.5k to 42.195k (full marathon), and 18 medals. Here’s the full list of the race events that I have joined in:

2.5K
Philippine Star RUN for MOM

3K
RAT Race
RUN for Japan

5K
GOOD Run
NatGeo

10K
Goldilocks 45th Anniversary Fun Run
Greentennial Half Marathon
Camp Run Series Leg 1
LiveStrong Day Philippines 2011
Nike We Run Manila
Run for Pasig River 2011 (Company Sponsored)

15K
I Run for Integrity…Towards a New Philippines
Tiktakbo 4

21K
Mizuno Infinity Run 2
Yamaha Run for Heroes
Rexona Run 2011
Run United 2 ‘RunRio Trilogy Leg 2’

Earth Run Manila 2011
AXN Runs Philippines 2011
OctobeRun Festival (Group Run – PinoyFitness Team Mamaws)
Adidas King of the Road 2011
35th Milo Marathon 2011 – National Finals

25K
Chevrolet New Balance Power Run

32K
Run United 3 ‘RunRio Trilogy Leg 3’
42K
35th National Milo Marathon – Manila Eliminations
Summit Water CamSur International Marathon
3rd QCIM

I’m looking forward to more running events in 2012.  See yer all on the road..!

14 Responses to 8 Months into Running — and Counting..!

  1. oliver tan says:

    very impressive running resume… hehehe. though I’ve never met you in person yet, somehow you’re a friend from afar. that is because i read most of your comments in three different groups. and in this blog. – nice one. we’ve run the same races ( milo, kotr) but never had the opportunity to meet you. maybe someday…. my next run is in cebu marathon, and hopefully in condura. God bless and more power….happy new year…. cheers…

    Like

    • SuPLaDoNG RuNNeR says:

      //thank you @oliver tan for taking time to read my blogs..though this one is fairly new…thank you for your kind words as well…the reason why i created THe RuNNeRS’ WoRLD is for me to meet individual who share the same passion for running like me…while you’re joining in the Cebu Marathon (and i have friends running there,too), i’ll be in Subic running my fourth full marathon…God willing, i’ll be in Condura as well…i hope to ‘run’ into you in our future races..
      ..a blessed year to you..Cheers..!

      Like

  2. You got a very fantastic website, Gladiola I found it through yahoo.

    Like

  3. source says:

    Just a smiling visitant here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style and design .

    Like

  4. Kim Cowee says:

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So nice to search out any individual with some authentic ideas on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this web site is something that’s needed on the web, someone with a little bit originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

    Like

  5. Photography says:

    Hello. magnificent job. I did not anticipate this. This is a fantastic story. Thanks!

    Like

  6. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

    Like

  7. Eneida Frock says:

    Remember to do not give up the normal work, on the other hand i also feel this really is awesome!!

    Like

  8. Andrew says:

    excellent put up, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t understand this. You should continue your writing. I am sure, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

    Like

  9. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. Many thanks

    Like

  10. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site so i came to “return the favor”.I am trying to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    Like

    • SuPLaDoNG RuNNeR.WRiTeR.HoST. says:

      @Raphael Diestel: Feel free to browse through my posts. You may find something that can be of help to you. Thank you for dropping me a line.

      Like

  11. Brooks Jore says:

    Some truly great blog posts on this website, thank you for contribution. “Be absolutely determined to enjoy what you do.” by Sarah Knowles Bolton.

    Like

  12. I think this web site has very excellent written content posts.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

